PMP Certification FAQ (What is the PMP Certification exam?)

What is the PMP Certification exam?
PMP stands for Project Management Professional certification exam. This is an exam offered by the Project Management Institute (PMI) and is one of the most respected and recognized certification for project manager. The PMP certification demonstrate that the candidate have the experience, competency and education to successfully direct and lead the projects of any field.
PMI is an organization?
The PMI was founded in the year 1969. It is largest non-profit membership association for the project management profession in the world. The goal of PMI is continuous development in the field of Project Management. PMI started the PMP certification exam in the year 1984. PMI has representative in the form of PMI chapters all across the globe.
What other certification exams are offered by PMI?
Now PMI offers 8 different exams related to the discipline of Project Management. These are –
  • CAPM: Certified Associate Project Manager
  • PMP®: Project Management Professional
  • PMI-ACP: Agile Certified Professional
  • PgMP: Program Management Professional
  • PMI-SP: PMI Scheduling Professional
  • PMI-RMP: PMI Risk Management Professional
  • PfMP: Portfolio Management Professional
  • PMI-PBA: PMI Professional in Business Analysis
What is the procedure to get PMP certified?
First you will need to find if you are eligible to take the PMP certification or not.
Eligibility Criteria
For Bachelor Degree holder or Equivalent
  • Three years or 36 months+ of unique non-overlapping professional project management experience
  • The candidate has to have 4500 hours of Project management experience.
  • The candidate has to have 35 contact hours of project management education
For Non bachelor/Diploma holders
  • Five years or 60 months+ of unique non-overlapping professional project management experience
  • The candidate has to have 7500 hours of Project management experience.
  • The candidate has to have 35 contact hours of project management education
The detailed eligibility criteria are written in PMP Certification handbook.
If you meet the criteria, then you can file the application at PMI site.
What is the Form Submission Procedure — is it complex?
No it is not. After meeting all the eligibility criteria the candidate has to submit the form online. PMI generally takes five working days to review the form. Once it gets approved they will ask to make the payment for your PMP certification exam.  Randomly PMI select 5% candidates for audit and you will come to know whether you are selected for the audit just after the payment. If everything goes smoothly, in a few days you will receive an acceptance letter/e-mail from PMI. After this you can schedule your exam by visiting or by calling the Prometric Center.
I help candidates in submitting the PMI form. If needed please contact me.
Need further help in filling the form click here
What if I am selected for Audit?
After submission of you’re the PMI take approximately five working days to review your form and then they will ask you to make the payment. Just after the payment the software randomly selects candidates for the audit. If you are one of them then do not worry or panic. All the procedure will be mentioned in step-by-step method. You just have to follow them and complete the audit procedure. Audit generally takes few days to complete the required formalities. Once the formalities are completed then PMI will take few days to review it and then you will receive an acceptance letter/e-mail from PMI and then you can schedule your exam.
I help candidates in completing their PMI audit. Please contact me.
What are the mode of the Exam?
Most of the candidates select computer based exam which is conducted in the Prometric testing centers Online. There are other options available too which you can find in the PMI handbook.

Difference Between Contact Hours & PDUs

There are many PMP aspirants who are still confused about which one is needed Contact Hours or PDUs in order to apply for the PMP Exam.  So, is it 35 contact hours you need and not 35 PDUs to apply for PMP? Let me explain if you are still more confused about these terms.
In a simple language –
Contact Hours – are hours that are needed to earn before becoming PMP certified. It can only be earned as a traditional course time that focuses on project management. If you are PMP exam aspirant then you will need at contact hours certificate (at least 35 contact hours certificate which is mandatory credential for PMP exam conducted by PMI).
People are also confused whether it is necessary to earn 35 contact hours from PMI R.E.P only. The answer is – “NO”.  PMI has made it clear in its handbook about the different ways to earn the 35 contact hours.
How to earn 35 Contact Hours?

  • Contact Hours are earned by attending Project Management relevant instruction.
  • Any class you took at any age could be counted as Contact Hours if it had any PM instructions
  • If your organization provided any training to use the software they use, you can claim that as Contact Hours
  • Attend PMP training from a Registered Education Provider (R.E.P) who is eligible to award you with Contact Hours.
  • You can easily earn this with Trainings24x7

PDUs (Professional Development Units) – PDUs are earned when you become PMP certified. You do not need Contact Hours after becoming PMP certified. There are some ways to earn PDUs to maintain your PMP. You may refer PMI Handbook for PDU calculations of your respective certification and it does provide detailed information of each activity.
(PMP)® is the globally recognized certification of project management knowledge, skills and of course experience as well. So it’s not surprising that PMI takes a great care to make sure the quality of its certification process, from application through post certification.
PDU’s must be earned only from PMI R.E.P (Registered Education Provider) as clearly mentioned in the PMI Handbook.

Hope, this article has helped you and cleared your all confusion about both terms. Best of luck for PMP Exam!

Related Blogs:

Earning PDUs Are Changing From Dec, 2015 – What You Need To Know

Is It Necessary To Memorize ITTO To Pass The PMP Exam?

Top 5 IT Certifications in 2015 That Pay Higher Salary